Wikis in the Classroom

 

Image

This is the first blog that my class used this year. It was originally used to build relationships over the summer and then we used it to reflect on a class novel.

I really enjoyed reading about Vicki Davis’ class in our textbook: Blogs, Wikis, Podcasts.  She had created a “flat classroom” at flatclassroomprojects.wikispaces.com with Julie Lindsay, a teacher from Bangladesh.  Even though this isn’t a recent wiki project, I really love how they used wikispaces with their students.  Even though these two classrooms were from two completely different parts of the world, they were able to collaborate with one another creating a series of essays, audio, and video.  This is a great way to use wikis!  I have incorporated wikis into my classroom multiple times, but never in this way.  Engaging with students from other schools, states, or even countries has always been something that I have wanted to do.

One of the most challenging pieces of creating the group wiki was the issues with technology.  Even though something might have been just added, when others were edited, previous work seemed to disappear.  Also, I think that it is more difficult to collaborate when you are not in the same area.  When these are incorporated in a classroom, students always have the opportunity to touch base with one anther. 

From this group wiki I have learned about a new way to use wikis.  The idea of collaborating on the same page had not crossed my mind before this project.  This has also shown me once again that by working together everyone is able to bring out his or her own ideas and experiences. 

My idea of Wikipedia has not changed this week.  I have always been one to use Wikipedia.  This resource is used at all levels of education.  Even though many have made good points on why they might not use this site, I am still comfortable with my students being a part of Wikipedia.  This is a great jumping point for research.  It allows students to learn how tocrosscheck information, recognize credible sources, and to be part of the process of collaboration.

I have not received resistance from using wikis in my classroom.   Parents are well aware of the technology tools that we utilize and I have not encountered any concerns from using these tools.  Overall I feel that my parents see the many benefits: researching, writing, collaborating with one another…etc.   These are all skills that I feel my students need to be able to possess in order to be successful in their education, as well as to be productive citizens.  As a teacher my job is to prepare my students as best as I possibly can, and I believe that the use of technology, including wikis, along with the many other resources that I have available allows me to do so.

 

Image

This is our most recent blog! We are using it to collaborate on science extensions, and will also be using it to reflect on weekly concepts.

 

Leave a comment